Missouri Wing
Main Content

Otradovec Lifetime Achievement Award

John E. Otradovec was born in 1936, Bolivar, MO and died in 2007, St. Charles, MO. He received a BS in electrical engineering from the Finlay Engineering College in Kansas City, MO in 1956 and worked for Boeing for 42 years. He was a 50 year member of the Civil Air Patrol leaving a legacy of selfless service to CAP and his community as a squadron commander, pilot, certified Airframe and Powerplant mechanic and FAA licensed Aircraft Inspector.

Lt Col Otradovec devoted hundreds of hours impeccably maintaining the wing’s aircraft fleet, saving the Missouri Wing hundreds of thousands of dollars in maintenance fees. His commitment, expertise and leadership were powerfully demonstrated during the 1993 floods when he, along with a team of three other mechanics, worked seven days a week to keep the fleet of more than 30 aircraft mission capable during the flood emergency.

Forever interacting with others in the way he, himself, wished to be treated, Lt Col Otradovec was the consummate professional who mentored other squadron commanders through CAP regulations and military protocol. When He spoke, others listened assured that he was providing only valued information. Being a genuinely humble man, John notoriously declined opportunities for assignments to higher positions in order that he might better serve the wing in a capacity which he felt was more useful. His positive attitude, work ethic and selflessness earned the respect of all who had the privilege of serving with him.

The Missouri Wing has established the John E. Otradovec Lifetime Achievement Award to recognize senior members of the Missouri Wing who, like Lt Col Otradovec, have stepped forward to serve CAP in any capacity asked of them. They are members who have given conspicuous, consistent and sustained service and leadership to their squadron, group and wing for a number of years.

With the reception of this award comes induction into the Missouri Wing Hall of Fame. Those members are:

2008: Lt Col Daniel L. Ranson 2009: Col Emmit Williams
2010: Lt Cols Randall J. and Mary C. Fuller 2011: Lt Col Gene A. Rugh
2012: Maj James L. Chevalier 2013: SMSgt Michael A. Mudry
2014: Lt Col William E. Sander 2015: Col Gene D. Hartmann
2016: Col William T. Winkert 2017: Col John A. Mais
2018: Col John R. O'Neill 2019: Lt Col Carolyn Rice
2021: Col Erica Williams 2022: Maj Jack Gray
© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.